By Dave Loveton, Director of Media Relations
May 4, 2015

Lightning returns to L.A. Summer Pro League in 2015

The Los Angeles Lightning returns to action this summer in the L.A. Summer Pro League. The Lightning reached the championship game in 2013 and lost to Nation Wide in a highly competitive battle.

The Lightning have captured two international titles, in 2009 and 2013. The Lightning have competed in the IBL and IBA, featuring former NBA players Lamond Murray, Bryon Russell, Toby Bailey, Fred Vinson, Darrick Martin, Juaquin Hawkins and Tyus Edney along with international stars like Billy Knight, Trayvon Lathan and Chris Ayers.
 The SPL is the premier summer league in Southern California with 800 current and former NBA players and more than 1,000 pro free agents from around the globe.

The SPL, an NBA sanctioned circuit for 40 seasons, had a terrific summer in 2013 when several players got contracts in various countries.